Anneke van Giersbergen: Dutch Singer-Songwriter set to Release Fifth Studio Album In The US October 15, 2013

pic by Nando Harmsen
Dutch Singer-Songwriter Anneke van Giersbergen To Release Fifth Studio Album In The US October 15, 2013

Los Angeles, CA - This October 15th, Dutch singer-songwriter Anneke van Giersbergen will release her fifth studio album in the US. The first single from the as-yet-untitled LP is set to land on August 23, accompanied by a music video, and a European tour will commence in mid-October. On this follow-up to 2012’s Everything is Changing, Anneke collaborated with Dutch songwriter and producer Arno Krabman, enlisting the help of her live band to lay down the new tracks. In a time when bands are creating entire albums by transferring files online, Anneke explains that she was keen to do things the old-fashioned way: “I really wanted to record an album together with a group of musicians in a studio.” Having toured extensively with the same tight-knit group of musicians, the result is an organic sound that perfectly captures our chemistry as a band.

Having proven her credentials and immense vocal talent for 13 years as front woman of The Gathering, in 2007 Anneke felt it was time to begin her own solo career. Along with her new band Agua de Annique the charismatic singer quickly established herself as a solo artist, releasing several albums to critical and popular acclaim.

Anneke also found time to collaborate with some of her long-time friends and musical peers, lending her honey-sweet, yet powerful voice to the likes of Anathema (Falling Deeper), the eccentric Devin Townsend (Addicted!, Epicloud) and fellow Dutchmen Within Temptation (Black Symphony). 2012’s Everything is Changing was something of a milestone in Anneke’s solo career. The album, which was the first to be released under her own name without the Agua de Annique moniker, got her nominated for two Edison awards – Holland’s most prestigious music prize – in the categories ‘Best Female Artist’ and ‘Best Album’. Not only was it a success in her home country, Everything is Changing took Anneke all over the world as she toured over 25 different countries including the UK, Germany, France and throughout Latin America.

The new album shows Anneke to be on top form and more multifaceted than ever, with songs ranging from her signature intimate ballads to euphoric stadium rock anthems – and as always, her ethereally beautiful voice is the jewel in the center.

Track Listing

  • 1 We Live On (03:41)
  • 2 Treat Me Like A Lady (04:00)
  • 3 She (03:08)
  • 4 Drive (03:43)
  • 5 My Mother Said (03:21)
  • 6 Forgive Me (03:11)
  • 7 You Will Never Change (04:03)
  • 8 Mental Jungle (03:44)
  • 9 Shooting For The Stars (04:33)
  • 10 The Best Is Yet To Come (04:04)

Total: 37:28 min


  • Anneke van Giersbergen - vocals, guitar
  • Gijs Coolen – guitar
  • Ferry Duijsens – guitar
  • Joost van Haaren – bass
  • Annelies Kuijsters - keyboards, backing vocals
  • Rob Snijders – drums

Selected Discography

  • Agua de Annique - Air (2007)
  • Anneke van Giersbergen & Agua de Annique - Pure Air (2009)
  • Anneke van Giersbergen & Agua de Annique - In Your Room (2009)
  • Anneke van Giersbergen & Agua de Annique - Live in Europe (2010)
  • Anneke van Giersbergen - Everything is Changing (2012)
  • Anneke van Giersbergen - Drive (2013)

Anneke Van Giersbergen Online